The early round draws in the Emirates FA Cup, FA Trophy, FA Vase and FA Youth Cup have been made, with the clubs entered and round exemptions also confirmed.

There are 736 clubs entering this season’s FA Cup and it all kicks off on Saturday 6 August with 184 extra preliminary round ties taking place across the country.

Atherton Collieries enter the FA Cup at the earliest stage and have been handed a home tie against NWCFL First Division side Bacup Borough. The winners of this will host Evo-Stik Division One South side Witton Albion.

Colls and Bacup have twice met in the FA Cup before, back in 2007 and 2008 respectively. Collieries ran out 3-1 winners the first time around with goals from Vita Bina and a double from Barry Massay. The following year, Bacup got their revenge and knocked out Colls at the opening stage with a 4-1 victory at West View; Holt with a consolation penalty.

Of course, over the years the two sides have met a plethora of times in league and cup action. In 2011, Bacup enjoyed a 2-0 win at Alder House in the League Cup. Also, the last two seasons have seen the teams drawn against each other in the same competition. The latest meeting being a 5-1 victory for Atherton in February; prior to that Colls had won 6-0 in December 2014. 

Meanwhile, Collieries also have history with Witton Albion having played them twice in the FA Cup. The first occasion came in September 2000 when the Northwich side won 1-0, before knocking Colls out again the following season with a convincing 4-0 victory. 

We have received byes in the FA Vase due to our progress in the competition last campaign.


Ties involving clubs in the Hallmark Security League are as follows.



Ashington v Nelson
Bridlington Town v Silsden
Padiham v Team Northumbria
Barnoldswick Town v Dunston UTS
Maltby Main v Squires Gate
Penistone Church v Cheadle Town
Alsager Town v Barton Town Old Boys
Pontefract Collieries v Runcorn Town
Parkgate v Irlam
Maine Road v Nostell MW
Congleton Town v New Mills
West Didsbury & Chorlton v AFC Liverpool
Hemsworth MW v Runcorn Linnets
AFC Blackpool v Ashton Athletic
Atherton Collieries v Bacup Borough
AFC Darwen v Cammell Laird 1907
Abbey Hey v Bootle
1874 Northwich v Barnton
Staveley MW v Winsford United
Sporting Khalsa v Hanley Town

All ties must be played on Saturday 6 August 2016, kick-off 3.00pm with replays on or before Thursday 11 August 2016, kick-off 7.45pm.



Barnoldswick Town or Dunston UTS v Penrith or Sunderland RCA
Padiham or Team Northumbria v Newcastle Benfield or Thackley
Ashington or Nelson v Thornaby or Bishop Auckland
Liversedge or Guisborough Town v Bridlington Town or Silsden
Congleton Town or New Mills v Farsley Celtic
Alsager Town or Barton Town Old Boys v Staveley MW or Winsford United
Worksop Town or Hallam v AFC Blackpool or Ashton Athletic
Parkgate or Irlam v Burscough
West Didsbury & Chorlton or AFC Liverpool v Maltby Main or Squires Gate
Atherton Collieries or Bacup Borough v Witton Albion
Mossley v Hemsworth MW or Runcorn Linnets
Hyde United v AFC Darwen or Cammell Laird 1907
Maine Road or Nostell MW v AFC Emley or Athersley Recreation
Colne v 1874 Northwich or Barnton
Northwich Victoria v Penistone Church or Cheadle Town
Pontefract Collieries or Runcorn Town v Abbey Hey or Bootle
Sporting Khalsa or Hanley Town v Romulus

All ties must be played on Saturday 20 August 2016, kick-off 3.00pm with replays on or before Thursday 25 August 2016, kick-off 7.45pm.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *